Business Intelligence Consulting

Business Intelligence Consulting

Faster reporting for predictable success.

When reporting and business planning via Excel lists reaches its limits, or when too much information has to be manually compiled from various upstream systems in order to obtain a solid view of your company's development, then it is time for a real business intelligence solution in your company.

We are happy to support you all along the way by providing consulting services, from recording the current state and your requirements, to tool selection and implementation of your own BI solution. Through our experience in complex BI projects, we have extensive process know-how as well as in the agile breakdown of such complexities. In doing so, we develop suitable solutions with the possibility of agile further development.

Through our partners at ARTS Processes, in cooperation with Prof. Dr. Egle of the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts, the whitepaper "Business Intelligence: How Data Analytics in Aerospace Ensures Faster and Better Information" was published.

Read the complete article here

Jedox

Jedox as Corporate Performance Software

For the implemented project at the ARTS group we use the software Jedox. Jedox simplifies planning, analysis and reporting for CPM and BI. Especially due to the integration into Excel, the software is intuitive to use for users.

Learn more


Why BI? The benefits.

        Business Intelligence

        Business Intelligence

        • Connection of various data sources to a data warehouse
        • Standardization of the different input data and transformation to data cubes
        • Gain knowledge through ad hoc analysis and data mining
        • Quick overview of relevant key figures through dashboards
        • Streamlining of the system landscape through a central data warehouse
        • Faster responsiveness
        • Increasing the quality of decision making
        • Increased corporate transparency
        Schedule your free consulting appointment now

        Our approach. We support you throughout the entire process.

        A BI solution maps the core processes of the company and thus makes them easy to measure. As an experienced BI team, we map processes in a standardized way and develop the connection to the existing upstream systems. For monitoring and regular reporting, we develop KPIs and the appropriate reports so that all important key figures are clearly displayed via a company cockpit.

        To do this, we use the procedures of prototyping, iterative development steps, and standardized process steps. Prototyping is a development method that has its origins in agile software development and basically makes use of the Pareto principle. At the beginning of the project, a prototype is developed jointly in a storming session with participants from the affected specialist and development departments. This prototype can have different levels of maturity. It can be a click dummy that only simulates a functionality and essentially represents a sample as a specification for the actual application to be developed.

        The goal is to obtain an MVP (minimum viable product) that already creates added value for your company. In addition to the MVP, a more precise goal and the rough path to get there is also specified. This path is divided into different iterative steps based on priorities and efforts. In these steps, we jointly develop your BI application into an integral component in your corporate management and planning.

        The added value of iterative development steps is to divide the time for conceptual phases and not to perform them in one block at the beginning of the development. In addition, changes in the environment, priorities and new findings can be addressed in the agile individual steps. This approach has its origins in agile software development with methods such as Scrum, Kanban or hybrid forms such as Scrumban, which are adapted to the corresponding requirements and framework conditions. Here, predefined work packages are processed in so-called sprints, small development sections. At the end of a sprint, the tasks achieved are compared with those originally planned. A retrospective is conducted in which it is recorded what went well during the sprint and should be maintained and what went badly and how it can be improved. Afterwards, the tasks for the next sprint are planned.

        In the iterative steps, the following types of development can be primarily distinguished for our project:

        Automation of the ETL processes

        Initially manually connected proven input data into the system can be imported continuously by automated ETL processes and thus development curves of the individual drivers can be tracked.

        Correction of existing assumptions

        If new KPI's or data sources become relevant or originally planned KPI's lose weight, the relations and connections can be agilely adjusted during development.

        Adaptation to changing conditions

        The company can react agilely to expansion and changes in the business segments with a corresponding influence on the evaluation or planning system or technical changes in the previous systems.

          During the course of the project, we continue to follow the following standardized steps to provide you with optimal support throughout the entire process:

                                                                            Recording and mapping of your processes

                                                                            Together we look at your processes and work out how and in which systems your company data is stored.

                                                                            Identification of implementation goals

                                                                            Now we define together which data we use for a later evaluation.

                                                                            Data Warehouse Design

                                                                            The next step is to develop a solution to integrate your data from different data sources into the destination. We pay particular attention to storage options, access options and the performance requirements of the data warehouse.

                                                                            Design and optimization of ETL routes

                                                                            The data from the various data sources is then consolidated. This means that the data is structured in such a way that it can be retrieved uniformly in its structure in the data warehouse.

                                                                            Connection of different data sources

                                                                            In this step, the relevant data sources are connected to the data warehouse so that the data is available at the destination.

                                                                            Definition of key performance indicators

                                                                            Now it is possible to retrieve the structured data in the data warehouse and to highlight the relevant information for your corporate planning. KPI's are the key figures that have a direct influence on your company's success.

                                                                            Setup and optimization of a dynamic reporting system

                                                                            In order to make the relevant data available for your company and to present it transparently, we support you in the further course with the development of dashboards. Thus you have your data quickly available at any time.

                                                                            Development of permission distribution concepts

                                                                            Finally, we define together which parts of your company can access the relevant data and make use of the information in order to be able to react quickly to changes and to speed up decision-making processes.

                                                                            Do you have questions and want to learn more?

                                                                            Benefit from our expertise in the area of Business Intelligence!

BI-Consulting

Schnelleres Reporting für planbaren Erfolg!

Wenn das Reporting und die Unternehmensplanung über Excellisten an seine Grenzen stößt, oder wenn manuell zu viele Informationen aus verschiedenen Vorsystemen zusammengetragen werden müssen, um einen soliden Blick, über die eigene Unternehmensentwicklung zu erhalten, dann wird es Zeit für eine echte Business Intelligence-Lösung in Ihrem Unternehmen.

Wir unterstützen Sie auf dem gesamten Weg gern durch Beratung von der Erfassung des IST-Zustandes und Ihrer Anforderungen, über die Tool-Auswahl bis hin zur Umsetzung Ihrer eigenen BI-Lösung.
Durch unsere Erfahrung in komplexen BI-Projekten besitzen wir ein umfangreiches Prozess-Know How sowie in der agilen Aufspaltung solcher Komplexitäten. Dabei entwickeln wir passende Lösungen mit der Möglichkeit der agilen Weiterentwicklung.

Durch unsere Partner der ARTS Processes wurde in Kooperation mit Prof. Dr. Egle der Hochschule Luzern das Whitepaper "Business Intelligence: Wie Data Analytics in der Luft- und Raumfahrt für schnellere und bessere Informationen sorgt" veröffentlicht.


Hier finden Sie den vollständigen Artikel!
Odoo • Bild und Text

Jedox als Corporate Performance Software

Für das umgesetzte Projekt bei der ARTS-Gruppe setzen wir die Software Jedox ein. Jedox vereinfacht Planung, Analyse und Reporting für CPM und BI. Insbesondere durch die Integration in Excel ist die Software für Nutzer intuitiv zu bedienen.

Warum BI? Die Vorteile.

                                          Odoo • Bild und Text
                                          • Anbindung verschiedenster Datenquellen an ein Data Warehouse

                                          • Normierung der unterschiedlichen Eingangsdaten und Transformation zu Data Cubes

                                          • Wissensgewinn durch Ad hoc-Analysen und Datamining

                                          • Schnelle Übersicht über relevante Kennzahlen durch Dashboards

                                          • Verschlankung der Systemlandschaft durch ein zentrales Datenlager

                                          • Schnellere Reaktionsfähigkeit

                                          • Steigerung der Entscheidungsqualität

                                          • Erhöhte Unternehmenstransparenz

                                                                            Unsere Vorgehensweise. Wir unterstützen Sie während des gesamten Prozesses.

                                                                            Eine BI-Lösung bildet die Kernprozesse des Unternehmens ab und macht sie dadurch einfach messbar. Als erfahrenes BI-Team bilden wir Prozesse normiert ab und entwickeln die Anbindung an die existierenden Vorsysteme. Für das Monitoring und die regelmäßige Berichterstattung entwickeln wir KPI's und die dazu passenden Reports, damit über ein Unternehmenscockpit alle wichtigen Kennzahlen übersichtlich abgebildet werden.

                                                                            Dafür nutzen wir die Vorgehensweisen des Prototyping, der iterativen Entwicklungsschritte sowie standardisierte Prozessschritte. Prototyping ist eine Entwicklungsmethode, die ihren Ursprung in der agilen Softwareentwicklung hat und sich prinzipiell das Paretoprinzip zu Nutze macht. Zu Beginn des Projektes wird in einer Storming-Session mit Beteiligten aus den betroffenen Fach- und Entwicklungsabteilungen gemeinsam ein Prototyp entwickelt. Dieser Prototyp kann unterschiedliche Reifegrade aufweisen. Es kann ein Click Dummy sein, der eine Funktionalität nur simuliert und im Wesentlichen ein Muster als Spezifikation für die tatsächlich zu entwickelnde Applikation darstellt.

                                                                            Ziel ist es, ein MVP (minimum viable product) zu erhalten, mit dem bereits ein Mehrwert für Ihr Unternehmen geschaffen wird. Neben dem MVP ist auch eine genauere Zielvorstellung und der grobe Weg dahin spezifiziert. Dieser Weg wird anhand von Prioritäten und Aufwänden in verschiedene iterative Schritte aufgeteilt. In diesen Schritten entwickeln wir gemeinsam Ihre BI-Applikation zu einem integralen Bestandteil in Ihrer Unternehmenssteuerung und -planung.

                                                                            Der Mehrwert von iterativen Entwicklungsschritten ist es, die Zeit für Konzeptionsphasen aufzuteilen und nicht in einem Block zu Beginn der Entwicklung durchzuführen. Zusätzlich kann in den agilen Einzelschritten auf Veränderungen des Umfelds, der Prioritäten und auf neue Erkenntnisse eingegangen werden. Diese Herangehensweise hat ihren Ursprung in der agilen Softwareentwicklung mit Methoden wie Scrum, Kanban oder Mischformen wie Scrumban, die an die entsprechenden Anforderungen und Rahmenbedingungen angepasst werden. Dabei werden in sogenannten Sprints, kleinen Entwicklungsabschnitten, vorab definierte Arbeitspakete abgearbeitet. Am Ende eines Sprints werden die erreichten Aufgaben mit den ursprünglich geplanten abgeglichen. Es wird eine Retrospektive durchgeführt, in der festgehalten wird, was während des Sprints gut lief und beibehalten werden soll und was schlecht lief und wie es verbessert werden kann. Danach werden die Aufgaben für den nächsten Sprint geplant.

                                                                            In den iterativen Schritten lassen sich für unser Projekt vorrangig folgende Arten von Entwicklung unterscheiden:

                                                                            Automatisierung

                                                                            Anfänglich manuell angebundene bewährte Eingabedaten in das System können durch automatisierte ETL-Prozesse stetig importiert und somit Entwicklungskurven der einzelnen Treiber nachgehalten werden.

                                                                            Korrektur bestehender Annahmen

                                                                            Wenn sich neue KPI's oder Datenquellen als relevant ergeben oder ursprünglich Geplante an Gewichtung verlieren, können die Relationen und Anbindungen während der Entwicklung agil angepasst werden.

                                                                            Anpassung an veränderte Bedingungen

                                                                            Auf Erweiterung und Veränderung der Geschäftsfelder mit entsprechendem Einfluss auf das Auswertungs- oder Planungssystem oder technische Veränderung der Vorsysteme kann agil reagiert werden.

                                                                            Im Projektverlauf orientieren wir uns weiterhin an folgenden, standardisierten Schritten, um Sie während des gesamten Prozesses optimal zu unterstützen:

                                                                            Aufnahme und Abbildung Ihrer Prozesse

                                                                            Gemeinsam schauen wir auf Ihre Prozesse und arbeiten heraus, wie und in welchen Systemen Ihre Unternehmensdaten gespeichert sind. 

                                                                            Identifikation von Implementierungszielen

                                                                            Nun definieren wir gemeinsam, welche Daten wir uns für eine spätere Auswertung zu Nutze machen.

                                                                            Data Warehouse Design

                                                                            Im nächsten Schritt entwickeln wir eine Lösung zur Integration Ihrer Daten aus den verschiedenen Datenquellen in den Zielort. Dabei achten wir besonders auf Speichermöglichkeiten, Zugriffsoptionen und die Anforderungen an die Performance des Data Warehouse.

                                                                            Aufbau und Optimierung von ETL-Strecken

                                                                            Anschließend erfolgt die Konsolidierung der Daten aus den verschiedenen Datenquellen. Das heißt die Daten werden so strukturiert, dass sie im Data Warehouse einheitlich in ihrer Struktur abgerufen werden können.

                                                                            Anbindung verschiedener Datenquellen

                                                                            In diesem Schritt werden die relevanten Datenquellen an das Data Warehouse angebunden, sodass die Daten am Zielort verfügbar sind.

                                                                            Definition von Key Performance Indikatoren

                                                                            Jetzt ist es möglich, die strukturierten Daten im Data Warehouse abzurufen und die relevanten Informationen für Ihre Unternehmensplanung herauszustellen. KPI's sind dabei die Kennzahlen, die direkten Einfluss auf Ihren Unternehmenserfolg haben.

                                                                            Aufbau und Optimierung eines dynamischen Reportings

                                                                            Um die relevanten Daten für Ihr Unternehmen abrufbar zu machen und transparent darzustellen, unterstützen wir im weiteren Verlauf mit der Entwicklung von Dashboards. Somit haben Sie Ihre Daten jederzeit schnell verfügbar.

                                                                            Entwicklung von Rechteverteilungskonzepten

                                                                            Abschließend definieren wir gemeinsam, welche Teile Ihres Unternehmens auf die relevanten Daten zugreifen und sich die Informationen zu Nutze machen können, um somit schnell auf Veränderungen reagieren zu können und Entscheidungsprozesse schneller voranzutreiben.